# Sharing

# Description

The Sharing tab can be used to share both the experimental design and the recorded data of your study in the Labvanced experiment library. The Open View access can be used to grant other researchers and reviewers access to inspect your experiment, but without the ability to copy your study or use it as a template. Labvanced highly encourages all researchers to open and share their designs and data, as this adds to the knowledge base of the research community.

sharing

# Sharing the Experiment as a Template

Each study has a "sharing state" which determines if and how the study will be available to other researchers. On the left side of the Sharing tab, users can inspect and change this sharing state by clicking on the respective buttons and then saving the change. There are three possible states:

  • Share Publicly: When this option is selected, your study will be listed in the Labvanced experiment library and all researchers (registered Labvanced users) can import your study and use it as a template. The data will not be shared / not be included in the template.
  • Decide Upon Request: When this option is selected, your study will be listed in the Labvanced experiment library. Other researchers cannot import your study, but they can send you a message and ask for your permission to import it. You will then receive a message (visible in the dashboard) and can decide from case to case if you want to allow a particular researcher to import your study.
  • Don't Share: When this option is selected, your study will not be listed in the Labvanced experiment library. Other researchers will not be able to import it.

# Open View Access

The open view access determines if other users can inspect your study and data. When activating this option, other users will not be able to import your study; they will only be granted view access to your study. This option is particularly interesting for researchers who wish to be open (i.e to reviewers and the community) about their applied methods, but do not want their study design to be easily re-used by someone else. People do not need to have a Labvanced account in order to inspect your study, which is useful for sharing your study with reviewers and colleagues. Overall, there are three different states which determine how the view access is handled:

  • Methods and Data: When this option is selected, your study will be listed in the Labvanced experiment library and people can inspect both your experiment design and the recorded data. However, they cannot change anything in your experiment and cannot change or delete any data.
  • Only Methods: When this option is selected, your study will be listed in the Labvanced experiment library and people can inspect your experiment design but not your data. They cannot make any changes to your experiment.
  • No Access: When this option is selected, your study will not be listed in the Labvanced experiment library. Nobody can inspect your experiment design or data.